CURRENT EVENTS HIGH 23.2.11 - 'The World's Most Livable Cities'

24/02/2011 16:43

 

DOWNLOAD

 

 

Week 9 readings.doc (40 kB)


World's Most Livable Cities.WAV (579,5 kB)
 

Where is that beautiful place in the photo above? It's Sydney, of course. My home town. Lucky me, I know, I know.

BUT, why is that photo there? Well, Sydney has been ranked as one of the world's top 10 cities, a fact that you would know if you were in class last night. There were some surprises with the list, with all of us thinking there would be no way that Beijing would make the list of the Top 100. But it was there at 72, and with the addition of Hong Kong at 31, one of only two Chinese cities. This surprised many of us, for example Clever and Shirley, who thought that some smaller, nicer Chinese cities might make it. Congratulations to Lam on correctly guessing that Vancouver was the world's #1 city. To be fair, it has been ranked the best since 2007, so maybe he knew something we didn't.

We also had quite a large discussion over how the cities were ranked, with Kevin stating that a city's happiness should be important. But, how can you measure a city's happiness? Put your ideas in the discussion below!

 

Finally, we read about the tragic earthquake in Christchurch, and a case of mistaken monkey identity. Thanks for all of your clever, funny comments during the lesson - see you in Current Events High next week :)

 

Can a city be happy? How do we measure a city's happiness?

Date: 24/02/2011

By: TEA

Subject: It's interesting!

You know, I sat nearby Kevin during that class. When he talked about happiness of city, It did grab my attention! However, evaluating happiness is not a easy job. Since happiness is the outcome, so there are many index to measure it. For a city, environmental friendly, acceptable social insurance, good social atmosphere of public opinion will contribute much to happiness. We need a better place to live in, and then we don't need to worry about our daily living. And what's more, we can express our diversity opinion to the authorities. So, Kevin's idear was good but it's too subjective to value.
Basically, I feel happy almost everyday as I always feel satisfied with my life. Once I come across some unfair phenomenons, I learn to adjust myself to deal with that and try hard to find the balance of my heart.

Date: 07/03/2011

By: Kevin

Subject: Re: It's interesting!

Thank you, Tea. I'm so glad to see your praise. Well, in my opinion, the happiness and health are the most important things in human's life. What is the human's life essence: respect, satisfaction and love.
You doubted about how to evaluate it, beacuse it it so abstract. You can't quantify it by numbers. However, we can judge it by people's spiritual outlook and satisfy about their city and citizens, and be proud as a citizen of the city.
I know it is too unpractical and unearthly.
Thank you! Thank you for your accompany, help and good idear.

New comment